Jackson County Health Department

Promoting Health, Preventing Illness, Protecting our Environment and Preparing for Emergencies

Board of Health

Who is the governing board of the Jackson County Health Department?

The health department is governed by an eight member board which is appointed by the Jackson County Board. Board members serve 3 year terms. The Board is required to have 2 physicians, a dentist, and a county board liaison as members.


What are the duties of the Jackson County Board of Health?

The Board of Health hires and evaluates the adminstrator of the health department; sets health department policies; monitors fiscal issues and submits the health department's budget to the County Board and ensures that state laws and local ordinances regarding the preservation of public health are followed.

Who are the Jackson County Board of Health members?

When and where does the Jackson County Board of Health meet?

How can I access agendas of upcoming meetings and minutes from previous meetings?






 415 Health Department Road

Murphysboro, IL 62966

Monday - Friday 8AM - 4PM





Click here to email us

After Hours Emergencies 800-875-0162